The Canberra Declaration on Gaza

We the undersigned members of Australian federal and state parliaments, call on all Australian politicians to condemn the ongoing Israeli military bombardment and invasion of Gaza.

We call on Australian politicians to support an immediate cessation of hostilities and a ceasefire deal which includes an end to Israel's occupation of the Palestinian territories and to the blockade of Gaza.

We call on all Australian politicians to also support the United Nations Human Rights Council's decision to launch an independent inquiry into purported violations of international humanitarian and human rights laws in the Occupied Palestinian Territory, including East Jerusalem.

Over 2135* Palestinians in Gaza have been killed, since Israel started its military attack on Gaza three weeks ago. The United Nations says at least 75 percent of the dead are civilians, including an estimated 504* children. In the last two days, Palestinian children have been killed at a rate of one per hour.

The rockets fired from Gaza are not in any way justified and insofar as they threaten and harm civilians are illegal under international law. However, these imprecise rockets cannot be compared with the broad-scale bombing of Gaza by Israel which has one of the world's largest military forces.

Collective punishment is not permitted under the Geneva conventions and is a war crime.

Hospitals, places of worship, and a centre for people with disabilities have been among the Israeli military's targets.

The United Nations Relief and Works Agency (UNRWA) is providing shelter to more than 102,788 Palestinians in the Gaza Strip.

The international community including Australia has a vital responsibility to put pressure on Israel to end its current military attack on Gaza and broker a solution of justice and peace.

*updated 27 August 2014

Signed by -

      1. Maria Vamvakinou MP, Labor (VIC)
      2. Melissa Parke MP, Labor (WA)
      3. Laurie Ferguson MP, Labor (NSW)
      4. Alan Griffin MP, Labor (VIC)
      5. Sharon Claydon MP, Labor (NSW)
      6. Adam Bandt MP, Greens (VIC)
      7. Barbara Perry MP, Labor (NSW)
      8. Andrew Giles MP, Labor (VIC)
      9. Paul Lynch MP, Labor (NSW)
      10. Jamie Parker MP, Greens (NSW)
      11. Lynda Voltz MLC, Labor  (NSW)
      12. Shaoquett Moselmane MLC, Labor (NSW)
      13. David Shoebridge MLC, Greens (NSW)
      14. Dr Mehreen Faruqi MLC, Greens (NSW)
      15. Dr John Kaye MLC, Greens (NSW)
      16. Jeremy Buckingham MLC, Greens (NSW)
      17. Jan Barham MLC, Greens (NSW)
      18. Senator Claire Moore, Labor (QLD)
      19. Senator Nick Xenophon, Independent (SA)
      20. Senator Christine Milne, Greens (TAS)
      21. Senator Lee Rhiannon, Greens (NSW)
      22. Senator Sarah Hanson-Young, Greens (SA)
      23. Senator Larissa Waters, Greens (QLD)
      24. Senator Janet Rice, Greens (VIC)
      25. Senator Richard Di Natale, Greens (VIC)
      26. Senator Penny Wright, Greens (SA)
      27. Senator Rachel Siewert, Greens (WA)
      28. Senator Scott Ludlam, Greens (WA)
      29. Senator Peter Whish-Wilson, Greens (TAS)
      30. Senator Sue Lines, Labor (WA)
      31. Tammy Franks MLC, Greens (SA)
      32. Graham Perrett MP, Labor (QLD
      33. Senator Anne Urquhart, Labor (NSW)
      34. Terri Butler MP, Labor (QLD)
      35. Julie Owens MP, Labor (NSW)
      36. Lisa Chesters MP, Labor (VIC)
      37. Senator Gavin Marshall, Labor (VIC)
      38. Senator Anne McEwen , Labor (SA)
      39. Senator Carol Brown, Labor (TAS)
      40. Senator Doug Cameron, Labor (NSW)
      41. Cassy O’Connor MLA, Greens (TAS)
      42. Senator Jan McLucas, Labor (QLD)
      43. Lynn MacLaren MLC, Greens (WA)
      44. Jill Hall MP, Labor (NSW)
      45. Jackie Trad MP, Labor (QLD)
      46. Malcolm Fraser, former Liberal Prime Minister
      47. Shane Rattenbury MLA, Greens (ACT)
      48. Yvette Berry MLA, Labor (ACT)
      49. Bronwyn Halfpenny MP, Labor (VIC)
      50. Tony Piccolo MP, Labor (SA)
      51. Andrew Wilkie MP, Independent (TAS)
      52. Senator Lisa Singh, Labor (TAS)
      53. Khalil Eideh MP, Labor (VIC)
      54. Lee Tarlamis MP, Labor (VIC)
      55. Johan Scheffer MP, Labor (VIC)
      56. Katrine Hildyard MP, Labor (SA)
      57. Janine Freeman MLA, Labor (WA)
      58. Amanda Fazio MLC, Labor (NSW)
      59. Mary Porter MLA, Labor (ACT)
      60. Ian Hunter MLC, Labor (SA)
      61. Stephanie Key MP, Labor (SA)
      62. Maree Edwards MP, Labor (VIC)
      63. Adam Searle MLC, Labor (NSW)
      64. Sylvia Hale, former Greens MLC (NSW)
      65. John Gazzola MLC, Labor (SA)
      66. Katy Gallagher MLA, Labor (ACT)
      67. Ian Cohen, former Greens MLC  (NSW)
      68. Kelvin Thomson MP, Labor (VIC)
      69. Anna Burke MP, Labor (VIC)
      70. Senator Kate Lundy, Labor (ACT)
      71. Carmel Tebbutt MP, Labor (NSW)
      72. Sharon Knight MP, Labor (VIC)
      73. Jo Vallentine, former Senator for Nuclear Disarmament Party and Greens (WA)
      74. Marg Lewis MLC, Labor (VIC)
      75. Mark Parnell MLC, Greens (SA)
      76. Dee Margetts, former Greens Senator (WA)
      77. Simone McGurk MLA, Labor (WA)
      78. Jo-Ann Miller MP,  Labor (QLD)
      79. Senator Sam Dastyari, Labor (NSW)
      80. Kerry Nettle, former Greens Senator (NSW) 

Any Australian politician who would like to add their name to this letter may contact the office of Melissa Parke or Senator Lee Rhiannon: or